Diablo IV World Tier Guide

Diablo IV World Tier Guide

Difficulty levels in Diablo IV take the form of World Tiers, and do more than just make enemies stronger. In our Diablo IV World Tier Guide, well go over each World Tier in the game, how to unlock them, and what each one can give you.

Want to know what content is worth doing once you’ve increased your World Tier? Check out our guides on Nightmare Dungeons, Helltide, and Whispers of the Dead. We also cover how you should be upgrading your gear and the Paragon system.

What You Should Know about Diablo IV World Tiers

When starting out with a new character, you’ll have the option to choose from the first two World Tiers — 1: Adventurer, and 2: Veteran. Both can be switched between freely after character creation, either via the main menu, or the World Tier statues found in major cities such as Kyovashad. Adventurer will offer the smoothest leveling experience, though Veteran’s slight increase in experience evens things out a little.

World Tiers 1 and 2 have the same gear drops, and you’ll have to head to higher tiers before more Gear types become unlocked.

Tiers 3 and 4 are inaccessible during the main story, with the ability to unlock 3: Nightmare only being available after beating the final boss. After the ending, a Priority Quest will direct you to the “Cathedral of Light” dungeon, which unlocks Tier 3 upon completion. When playing a character that has skipped the story, this quest will become available while leveling.

However, while it’s possible to beat this dungeon when your level is in the low 40s, Tier 3 enemies start at level 53. The XP given is a lot higher however, so it can be worth powering though these harder enemies in Tier 3 rather than dropping back to 2.

Once in Tier 3, you’ll have the option to take on the dungeon “Fallen Temple” to unlock World Tier 4: Torment. This dungeon is much harder than Cathedral of Light, requiring around level 70 and a mostly complete build to take it on.

Higher World Tiers offer a number of benefits, and there’s little reason to go back to tiers 1 and 2 once you’re at level 50 or above. You’ll get higher tiers of gear, new content, and vastly increased experience gain.

Diablo IV World Tier Differences

Tier Unlock Condition Enemy Modifiers Features
1: Adventurer Default None. Enemies give the lowest XP and Gold. N / A
2: Veteran Default +20% XP, +15% Gold. N / A
3: Nightmare Complete “Cathedral of Light” dungeon in World Tier 2 +100% XP, +15% Gold, enemies overcome 20% Resistance, Champion Monsters. Nightmare Sigils, Nightmare Dungeons. Sacred and Unique Gear.
4: Torment Complete “Fallen Temple” dungeon in World Tier 3 +200% XP, +15% Gold, enemies overcome +40% Resistance. Higher Tier Nightmare Sigils. Ancestral Gear and more Unique.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *